The First Scandinavian Interdisciplinary conference among Nepalese was held successfully.


On 20th May 2018, the First Scandinavian Interdisciplinary Conference on “Innovation and Knowledge Transfer” among Nepalese was successfully organized in Technical University of Denmark (DTU). The conference was jointly organised by Embassy of Nepal, Denmark, Nepalese Scientific-Academic panel in Denmark (NepSAP), Non-Residential Nepalese Association (NRNA) and Nepal Science Foundation Trust (NSFT). The main aims of the conference was to gather Nepalese scholars working in the Scandinavian countries for knowing each other for future collaboration as well as transferring the gained knowledge and applicable technology from European countries to Nepal.

The program was started with Nepali National anthem and Dr. Sailesh Malla, a research specialist at DTU as well as co-ordinator of NepSAP, welcomed all the participants on behalf of NepSAP. Dr. Malla emphasized on necessity of unification of scientists and researchers working in different European institutes to transfer the gained knowledge and applicable techniques to Nepal. This conference is one of the very first steps to achieve that goal, he added.

The Chief guest of the program HE Yuba Nath Lamsal, ambassador of Nepal to Denmark, gave welcome remarks on behalf of all the organizers and he mentioned that Nepal Embassy is always willing to help for achieving the goal of such programmes.

The scientific and academic session was started with the key note talk from Assoc. Prof. Karen Valentin from Aarhus University. She mentioned about her research activities connected with Nepal and Nepalese scholars in her group. The conference was catagorized into four sessions; i) Technology, waste and energy, ii) Agriculture, iii) Innovation and iv) social science and development, consisting 21 talks out of which 7 were female speakers. Several scholars from different research area presented the state-of-the art research and innovative findings that could be valuable for Nepal. The sessions were chaired by Dr Ravi K. Chhetri (Postdoctoral research at Technical Univeristy of Denmark), Assoc. Dr. Prabhat Khanal (Assoc. Professor at Nord University, Norway), Dr. Nabin Aryal (Postdoctoral researcher at Aarhus Univeristy, Ms. Rupa Munakarmi (PhD scholar at Aarhus University) and Mr. Rebat K. Dhakal (PhD Scholar at Aarhus Univeristy).

The six membered Scientific/management committee of the conference has done great arrangements to make this conference successful even with free registration fee. This team comprises Dr. Sailesh Malla, Dr. Khem B. Adhikari, Dr. Nabin Aryal, Dr. Ravi K. Chhetri, Mr. Rebat Kumar Dhakal and Ms. Rupa Munankarmi.
At the end of the conference, Dr. Malla had summarized about the conference whereas Dr. Aryal gave thanking remarks to all the helping hands and donor organizations for their contribution.

(Photo courtesy 6 degree production)

(Photo courtesy sangita khatri)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.